DURA is governed by a 13-member board of commissioners, 11 of whom are appointed by the Mayor of Denver and confirmed by the Denver City Council for staggered five-year terms.

The remaining two commissioners are one elected board member of Denver Public Schools and one board member of a special district that levies a property tax within Denver.

Tracy Huggins, DURA’s Executive Director, is a non-voting member of the Board of Commissioners and acts as Secretary.